



Extraordinary Meeting of the Association of European Senates organized at the occasion of the 10th anniversary of the renewal of the Czech Senate

Prague, September 28 - 29, 2006

FINAL DECLARATION OF THE PRESIDENCY

The heads of delegations of the upper chambers that have taken part in the extraordinary meeting of the Association of European Senates,

- congratulate the Czech Senate at the occasion of the 10th anniversary of its renewal and wish it to keep on occupying a fruitful position on the Czech and European political scene;
- note that the existence of bi-cameral parliaments contributes to the balance of institutions, to an improved quality of the legislation and to the efficiency of the legislative process, allows at once a better performance of the legislative and control functions belonging to the parliament and makes possible as well a fuller representation of diverse groups;
- welcome the decision of the European Commission to transfer directly to national
 parliaments all new propositions and discussion papers, express at once the hope that
 the new model of communication shall contribute to the simplification of European
 legislation and to bring it closer to citizens and appeal to the Commission for taking
 into account opinions of national parliaments, especially those related to respecting the
 principles of subsidiarity and proportionality;
- underline the need to further develop the cooperation between national parliaments in the area of the control of the subsidiarity and proportionality principles;
- express the firm conviction that the 9th meeting of the Association hosted in 2007 by the Romanian Senate shall bring as previous meetings did an interesting and inspiring exchange of views.



Mana a Hercegovina / Bosnia and Herzegovina / Bosnie et Herzégovine

Česká republika / Czech Republic / République tchèque

Francouzská republika / French Republic / République française

Italská republika / Republic of Italy / République italienne

Nizozemské království / Kingdom of the Netherlands / Royaume des Pays-Bas



Polská republika / Republic of Poland / République de Pologne Rakouská republika / Republic of Austria / République d'Autriche Rumunsko / Romania / Roumanie Federation / Fédération de Russie Ruská federace? Russing Slovinská republika / Republic of Slovenia / République de Slovénie Spojené království Velké Británie a Severniho Irska / United-Kingdom of Great Britain and Northern Ireland Royaume-Uni de Grande-Bretagne et d'Irlande du Nord Spolková republika Německo / Federal Republic of Germany / République fédérale d'Allemagne Španělsko / Spain / Espagne

Švýcarská konfederace / Swiss Confederation / Confederation suisse