Version françaiselgenp.gif (145 octets)

Association of European Senates

 

Presentation

 

At the invitation of the President of the french Senate, M. Christian Poncelet, the Presidents of fourteen upper parliamentary chambers in Europe decided, during a meeting held in Paris on 8 November 2000, to create an Association of European Senates.

As of today, this Association brings together the Federal Councils (Bundesrats) of Germany and Austria; the Senates of Belgium, the Czech Republic, France, Italy, the Netherlands, Poland, Romania and Spain; the National Council of Slovenia; and the Swiss Council of States, as well as the Council of State of Luxembourg in the capacity of observer.

The Association's objectives are to develop relationships between members, promote bicameralism within the framework of parliamentary democracy and strengthen European identity and awareness. Each year the Association organizes at least one meeting of Senate Presidents on specific topics to be determined in advance by joint agreement.

Langue : anglais

Association des Sénats d'Europe

Présentation

 

A l'invitation du Président du Sénat français, M. Christian PONCELET, les Présidents de quatorze deuxièmes chambres européennes ont, au cours d'une réunion qui s'est tenue à Paris le 8 novembre 2000, décidé la création d'une Association des Sénats d'Europe.

Cette association regroupe aujourd'hui les Bundesrat d'Allemagne et d'Autriche, les Sénats de Belgique, d'Espagne, de France, d'Italie, des Pays-Bas, de Pologne, de Roumanie et de République Tchèque, la Chambre des Nations de Bosnie-et-Herzégovine, la Chambre des Lords du Royaume-Uni, le Conseil de la fédération de Russie, le Conseil national de Slovénie, le Conseil des Etats de Suisse, ainsi que le Conseil d'Etat du Luxembourg à titre d'observateur.

L'association, qui se fixe pour objectifs le développement des relations entre ses membres, la promotion du bicamérisme dans le cadre de la démocratie parlementaire et le renforcement de l'identité et de la conscience européennes, organise, chaque année, au moins une réunion des Présidents des Sénats sur des thèmes précis déterminés à l'avance d'un commun accord.